A magical musical experience on the open seas

There’s a world I never knew existed until recently. A world of tropical desert islands, fantastic live music 14 hours a day, 24-hour pizza and ice-cream, and where you might just end up singing karaoke with Edwin McCain!

This world is Cayamo and I just experienced it for the first time.

It was 7 days of pure fun, travel, great company, great food and most importantly, fantastic music.

I was on the cruise as part of Shawn Mullins’ band so got to play 3 shows with him and by the end of the week I was thrilled to have been offered my own hour long show which was great fun. The line up of artists playing on the boat was amazing and included Shawn Mullins, John Prine, Lucinda Williams, Chuck Cannon, Lyle Lovett, John Hiatt, The Civil Wars, and, a highlight for me, James McMurtry.

I was first introduced to McMurtry’s music while I was on tour with Shawn last year. The ipod in the RV shuffled onto a song called “We can’t make it here anymore” and I was instantly hooked. I spent the next few days downloading McMurtry songs onto my own ipod and listened to them constantly.

So when I saw he was going to be on the boat, I was beyond excited. The great thing about the way Cayamo is set up is that the performers can get to chat to each other in the artist section of each little venue. I just about plucked up the courage to glance at James McMurtry while on the boat but striking up a conversation was a bit too scary!

I did however get to meet and hang out with some other lovely artists including Enter The Haggis, Sarah Buxton and Edwin McCain (who I now have to thank for teaching me a thing or two about the game of Blackjack and the karaoke version of “Don’t You Want Me Baby” by Human League).

On top of all of that, the other passengers on the boat were so much fun to get to know. Some of the biggest music fans I’ve ever met, and I hope i’ll get to meet some of them again as I travel around the States this year.

What a crazy world it is when you get paid to cruise in the Caribbean sun! To slightly adapt a song of mine, it really was one of “the best week’s of my life”. I really hope next February I’ll be boarding the boat for another adventure on the high seas, and maybe I’ll see you there!

p.s. If anyone would like to see some photos from the cruise as well as a video of Shawn Mullins and me doing an unplugged duet of “The Only Thing Real” head over to my facebook page: www.facebook.com/callaghanmusic

p.p.s For more information about Cayamo, go to www.cayamo.com

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “A magical musical experience on the open seas

  1. Teresa Kato says:

    Loved getting to know your music on the Cayamo cruise… Playing at my house today: Callaghan, James McMurtry, The Civil Wars, Shawn Mullins, Chuck Cannon. All relatively new to me and all quickly becoming beloved favorites.

  2. Rick says:

    I can’t believe you listed performers who were on the cruise and left off Keb Mo and Richard Thompson who certainly filled the auditorium more than anyone else. Hope for your sake you know their music and got to see them perform.

  3. That’s the great thing about Cayamo, there are so many amazing shows going on. Sometimes it’s a challenge to catch them all, but the ones I did get to were fantastic and in venues were there was not a single seat left to be filled.

    To anyone who would like to see the full list of over 30 performers, you can find it on the Cayamo website http://www.cayamo.com/artists/. If you’ve never been on the cruise it’ll give you a flavour of what the music is like. I highly recommend it!!

Leave a Reply

