Life in Full Colour #8 – The Only Thing Real

Callaghan "Life in Full Colour"

Blog # 8 – The only thing real

If I had a list of things I wanted to do before I die, I can now cross one off…writing with Shawn Mullins.
This was the first song we wrote together and it will be a moment I’ll never forget.
A lot of people talk about getting to meet someone they have looked up to and admired for a long time as a potential disappointment. Perhaps the person isn’t as pleasant or brilliant as you had imagined, but for me, meeting Shawn has been no disappointment!
Working with him and getting to know him over the last two years has only hightened him in my estimations. Shawn’s album, “Soul’s Core”, was one of the most memorable early records I bought and was influential in putting me on the path of becoming a song-writer.
So to get the chance to create a song with him was truly a dream come true.
We wrote it in my little midtown Atlanta apartment, us both playing around with chords on the guitar and scribbling down lyric ideas.
I’m immensely proud of the finished song, and love getting to perform it with Shawn at live shows. The idea of the lyrics was the thought that we can all get too swept up in material things in the modern age, and forget what it is that really matters: the people we love. There are so many things nowadays that fight to get our attention, and sometimes we need to take a step back from the chaos and enjoy the important things in life…
“Will we ever learn the right things to hold, the call of our hearts/ diamonds and gold,
With all that we want, the love that we feel, is the only thing real”

 

Leave a Reply

