What Is It About Christmas Music That Makes You Want To Poke Sharp Objects In Your Ears?!

Young woman wearing Santa's hat is screaming.

“It’s the most wonderful time of the year
With the kids jingle belling
And everyone telling you “Be of good cheer”
It’s the most wonderful time of the year”

Well, Andy Williams, sometimes it doesn’t feel like the “hap-happiest season of all” when the local radio and in-store music stations have offered you countless variations of “Santa Claus Is Coming To Town” or “Do You Hear What I Hear?” and it’s not even lunch time yet.

Amazingly, the song that tops the list of most performed Christmas songs, aptly titled “The Christmas Song”, has been covered over 109 times (I lost the will to continue once I’d counted to 109). This particular holiday song is by no means the most annoying though. I think it’s one of the good ones, although I decided not to sample Daffy Duck’s version.

It’s not that Christmas music is a bad thing. In the right setting, and produced well it can put you in a wonderfully festive mood. But tuning into any radio station, or walking into a store in the months leading up to Christmas I am left with the overwhelming impression that these organizations all possess the same 10-track Christmas CD and have been given instructions to play it on a loop until eventually people can take no more! I cannot even imagine what it must be like to work in one of these stores around the holidays, but I’m pretty sure it could be classified as a form of mental torture.

I think the problem may be even worse in my home country of England than the USA. Because we don’t have Thanksgiving or do much to mark the occasion of Halloween, preparations for Christmas sometimes begin as early as September so the music on a loop starts then too. The strange thing is, after two Christmases spent in the USA, I have actually begun to miss the songs that drove me so crazy in the UK. I’d never really thought about it before moving to the US, but Christmas Songs are innately part of the culture of each country. There are songs played over here that I’d never heard before and British Christmas tunes that never get a look in. I don’t think any of my American friends have experienced the festive joy of hearing Noddy Holder of 70’s UK-rock band Slade scream “It’s Christmas!” at the top of his lungs before launching into “Merry Xmas Everybody“, nor have they heard the lyrical genius of The Darkness’s hit tune “Christmas Time, Don’t Let The Bells End” or Cliff Richard’s crooning over his classic “Mistletoe & Wine“. And no Christmas journey was ever complete without hearing Chris Rea’s “Driving Home For Christmas“.

So maybe this proves my point that it’s not the songs themselves that people grow to hate, but how many of the same songs they are subjected to each year. Perhaps the radio stations and the stores need to branch out a bit more and treat their listeners and shoppers to a new Christmas tune once in a while.

In the interests of bringing new Christmas songs into the world, here is my offering. This is a video for my original Christmas song “Snowflakes” featuring people from all over the USA and beyond! I hope you enjoy it, and I hope it doesn’t make you want to rip your ears off this Christmas! Daffy Duck, if you’d like to cut a version of it, please get in touch.

Merry Christmas Everyone!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

